Sunday, 20 October 2013

Review: Deadly Crush (Deadly Trilogy, #1)

Deadly Crush {Deadly Trilogy, #1}/ Ashley Stoyanoff

Once again, today we have a divergent review: strong feelings of love and hate are shown here.

Jade is a normal teenage girl in a small town named Dog Mountain. This town is run by a pack of werewolves, that Jade grew to hate over the years.
Meet Aidan: the one who is going to change everything.

I'm not a big werewolf fan, but this book was actually readable. I love how all the pack and alpha politics were explained in this book. This book actually convinced to try more werewolf books.
Also, the relationships between different levels of respect in the pack; how the beta is the right hand man for the alpha, and how the females are supposed to look up at their female alpha.

But what I didn't like about the plot -or rather, the romance- is how predictable it was. No, Jade would totally not fall for the new hottie in town, or that he would get interest in her.
Also, many characters confirmed that Jade had a really strong aura around her, but I didn't feel it and the story didn't make her stronger.

Written really well, I could just slide through the book.

And once again, like in many young adult novels now days, the female point of view is much more realistic and interesting than the guy's. Seriously, Aidan is all about werewolf politics. While the Alpha only thought of his pack, Jade was actually the one who was progressing the love and main plotline!

I also enjoyed some of the characters, but none of them stood out. Some were a bit unrealistically changed.

Overall, the story is enjoyable and fun to read, except for Aidan's parts and not many likable characters.

3 STARS

This novel was part of the R4R program.

Saturday, 19 October 2013

Review: Fire (Elements of Power, #1)

Fire {Elements of Power, #1}/ Heather James

This book was a really entertaining read, but some flaws just were in the way. This is going to be a free style review where I'll say all my opinions one after another.

Roxy is a royal from the Helian Realm, where people after the name of 'Protectors' are using the element of their kingdom: fire. She's in training to become a protector, when her grandfather summoned a summit where all the leaders from all the realms will organize.
Jasmine is a young girl from the Arcan Realm, who is good friend with the prince of their realm, where the element is: air. She is struggling with knowing her origins until something doesn't go right.

First of all: I liked Roxy much more than Jasmine. She was much better done and had much more personality to her. Jasmine was the most paranoid character that I've ever met. I didn't like her for so many reasons: not talking to her best friend, being judgmental of others and more. I felt like she was there to annoy me.

But, I really loved the world building! I loved that most realms have advanced technology (except for the Sephan Realm, which it's element is earth and all the people there are a bunch of green thumbs), and that each had a very unique lifestyle. For example, Helians are really loving the dangerous life while Arcans are religious people. This is one of those fantasy worlds I want to live in!

I also liked how the Protectors have colorful highlights of their elements. I would totally go around with crazy colors in my hair! And every element also has kind of additional powers, like Control for the Helians.

Another thing I didn't like about the book was how some stuff could be really predictable (I don't want to write down any spoilers).

Overall, the world building is amazing, most of the character were well written and even though the plot is a bit predictable, I really loved this book!

P.S.: Today, October 19th, is the release date of the second book, Water!

4 STARS

This book was provided by the R4R program in exchange for a honest review.

Tuesday, 8 October 2013

Review: Wild Song

Wild Song/ Jane Eagland

This story was specialized for low reading level, but it also felt like the story wasn't fully developed. Still, I did really enjoy it.

Anna lived her entire life in a mansion on an isolated island. Living with her father and three other souls, as a cook and such, she never met anyone of her age and always lonely by herself. Until one stormy night, a boy is washed to the island.

Plot:
The plot was nice and light, but it really reminded me a book I've read earlier this year, and despised it. Anyhow, I gave this book a shot.

I love how there's build up in the story. An introduction, the change, the process... but no ending. Seriously, this book has such an open ending that you feel like there's part two.

News break: there's no part two.

Writing:
The story's reading level was for third graders, but it wasn't horrible or too bland. I actually think it was perfect for this level, except it could use a bit of more poetic here and there.

Romance:
I enjoyed to see the romance unfold in a really cute fashion! How they started meeting each other and asking about each others life. They became friends, had ups and downs, had their moments and in the end, promised to see each other once again.

What I loved about the romance in this book is that unlike in some young adult books, sometimes the two main characters fall in love instantly, no real feelings, just loving each other for looks. This book gave the love to develop and made the reader feel it.

Characters:
Unfortunately, I didn't feel anything for the minor characters. I kind of felt as if only Anna and Rob were the only one well developed.

Overall:
I liked the story itself and surprisingly, enjoyed the simple writing. I only felt that the end was too much open and there's still a lot to tell.

3 STARS

Liked:
-Anna & Rob
-Romance
-Writing
-Story build up

Disliked:
-Open ending
-Not feeling for the minor characters

Saturday, 5 October 2013

Top Tens: 10 Books That I Want Now

Hello, everybody!
Today, we start our top ten Saturdays! Today, lads and gents, we are going to talk about my top ten books that are coming out the last three months of 2013 -or- in 2014.

10.Learning Not to Drown by Anna Shinoda

 "Family secrets cut to the bone in this mesmerizing debut novel about a teen whose drug-addicted brother is the prodigal son one time too many.

There is a pecking order to every family. Seventeen-year old Clare is the overprotected baby; Peter is the typical, rebellious middle child; and Luke is the oldest, the can’t-do-wrong favorite. To their mother, they are a normal, happy family.

To Clare, they are a family on the verge of disaster. Clare: the ambitious striver; Peter: the angry ticking time bomb; and Luke: a drug-addicted convicted felon who has been in and out of jail for as long as Clare can remember—and who has always been bailed out by their parents.

Clare loves Luke, but life as his sister hasn’t been easy. And when he comes home (again), she wants to believe this time will be different (again). Yet when the truths behind his arrests begin to surface, everything Clare knows is shaken to its core. And then Luke is arrested. Again.

Except this time is different, because Clare’s mom does the unthinkable on Luke’s behalf, and Clare has to decide whether turning her back on family is a selfish act…or the only way to keep from drowning along with them.

Debut novelist Anna Shinoda's raw, gritty, powerful novel cuts right to the bone and brings to life the skeletons the lurk in the closet." from GoodReads


The premise sounds really interesting: a family who is falling apart. It sounds like a really deep read for the winter (I like to read sad stuff when it's cold).
Also, it's a debut novel, so it's exciting to see what the author has to offer.


9. The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

"Twelve-year-old Callum Hunt has grown up knowing three rules by heart. Never trust a magician. Never pass a test a magician gives you. And never let a magician take you to the Magisterium. Callum is about to break all the rules. And when he does, his life will change in ways he can’t possibly imagine."  from GoodReads

Many rumors float around this new series, called Magisterium, which has five books, each represents a year in Callum's life from the age twelve? Sounds familiar? (Percy Jackson, Harry Potter)
Anyhow, the premise sounds intense, and I hope to see what those two authors will come up with.

8. Ruins by Joshua Winning

This is the second book in the Sentinel Trilogy.
Well, let's start off with the fact that this book doesn't have a description, cover or even a year of publication, I'm really curious with what is going to happen to Nicholas. There's so much more to explain!

7. The Retribution of Mara Dyer

The Retribution of Mara Dyer is the last book in the Mara Dyer Trilogy.

Okay, I didn't even read the first and second book. Yet.
But believe me, I'm enjoying the first book so much that I just die here from feels and this fandom wrecks my heart. 
If you don't know what the series is about, it's about a girl name Mara (duh), who gets into an accident with her friends, when she's the only survivor. She gets a traumatic experience that makes her forget the night when her friends died. The stress is taken out as hallucination.
The fun part about this book, is that Mara is the narrative, and sometimes, you don't know if what she sees is real or not.


6. Horizon by Alyson Noel 

"Fate has bound them together—and torn them apart. Now Daire and Dace face one final fight that will seal their destiny forever.

Daire Santos is the last of the Soul Seekers, and the only thing standing between the Richters and the destruction of everyone she loves. With her grandmother gone and Cade back in Enchantment, Daire must finally step into her destiny and lead the fight against the Richters. But what if that means sacrificing the person she loves most?

Bound to the Richters by blood, Dace struggles against the darkness growing inside him that threatens to claim Daire too. Though Daire refuses to give up on him, the choice may not be hers. An epic battle is on the horizon and the end of the world looms near. With such insurmountable odds stacked against them, is their love really enough to conquer all?" from GoodReads

 The Soul Seekers might be the best creation by Noel. This series is much more fun to read, and yes, a little too slow at the beginning, but it so amazing by the end and I even liked most of the characters. Thumbs up for this series!

5. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare 

 "Los Angeles, 2012. It’s been five years since the events of the Mortal Instruments when Nephilim stood poised on the brink of oblivion and Shadowhunter Emma Carstairs lost her parents. After the blood and violence she witnessed as a child, Emma has dedicated her life to the eradication of demons and being the best, fastest and deadliest Shadowhunter since Jace Lightwood. Raised in the Los Angeles Institute, Emma is paired as a parabatai with her best friend, Julian. As Emma hunts those who caused the death of her parents, the trail they’re following leads back to those they’ve always been taught to trust. At the same time, Emma is falling in love with Julian — her closest friend and, because he is her parabatai, the one person in the world she’s absolutely forbidden by Shadowhunter Law to love. Set against the glittering backdrop of present-day Los Angeles, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches from the warlock-run nightclubs of the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica." from GoodReads

Yes, I know that many people think it's 'too much' shadowhunters. But I personally like this world, even though it is a copy of Harry Potter. We shall see!

4. Champion by Marie Lu

"The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion." from GoodReads


I just LOVED the first book in the trilogy, Legend, and I can't wait to put my hands on Prodigy and Champion. Those books make you feel like you just watched an epic, action packed movie. If you didn't read it yet, you need to jump on this train, my friend.

3. Fates by Lanie Bross

"What if your destiny was to kill the one you love?

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she’s falling all over again—this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die.

In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?" from GoodReads


I just fell for the plot of unfolding people's fates, making them go as planned. This sounds like a book with twists and heart wrecking moments.

2. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

"The new series, set in what Putnam described as a “Renaissance-like world,” is called The Young Elites. It follows three rival societies with supernatural powers battling for supremacy.

And a girl transforms from an unwanted daughter into a fearsome leader, igniting panic and sparking war between seven nations." from GoodReads


You know you love an author when two books written by them are in your "want-now-beach" list. I just don't think I can wait till Fall 2014.

1. Hellhole by Gina Damico

"With no social life to speak of, a job that he spends more time at than school, and a sick mother to care for at home, Max Kilgore doesn't exactly need another thing on his plate. Yet it arrives one night, forcefully and unexpectedly, and refuses to leave his basement: a devil.

Specifically, the kind of devil who eats a lot of junk food and watches a lot of reality television and plays a lot of video games. But evil is still evil, no matter what form it takes. Max knows that his life and the lives of everyone in his small town are in danger, but how can he get rid of the guy without incurring the wrath of hell?" from GoodReads


Gina did a great job with her Croak trilogy (or so reviews say), and this book sounds like the perfect fun read for the Halloween season. I love to hear about demons that are 'out of the box', and this sounds like a book for both genders. Already putting on my favorites shelf.

Wednesday, 25 September 2013

Review: Sentinel (Sentinel Trilogy, #1)

Sentinel {Sentinel Triology, #1}/ Joshua Winning

I have complicated thoughts about this book. Some are good, some are bad; and this review is going to uncover everything.

Young Nicholas Hallow's life is turned upside down: his parent's death, the weird whispers dreams and the hidden world from the eye.

Join the fight between the Sentinels and the Dark , as good battles evil, sacrifices and torn apart families will unite in this fantasy novel.

Plot:
Well, that was an interesting... okay, I'll stop joking around and say the truth. I was really bored with this book; I felt as if the book was standing in one place, there was pretty much no action or actual danger to it. I felt like all the scenes were like an unedited YouTube video, where the person didn't even do cuts between talks.

Also, I felt like this plot was really inspired by the Harry Potter series. Pretty much every character was a less interesting and cool than the characters in the HP series. I found many similarities- a dark lord with an army, some old man who's known by all with his greatness; and there's so much more to it.

I also hated that the 'love triangle' was with a boy and two much older ladies. Don't get me wrong, I hate all types of love triangle and I'm cool if the girl is older than the guy, but this is pedophilia, no matter what angle I look at it from. It feels really wrong for young audience novel.

Also, many claim that the book is dark and scary, but I felt it was just something to drive the book by. I didn't feel like it was actually having something dark in it or even something to make me shiver by.

Still, I loved how there's different types of Sentinels and that the evil lord takes fully over a corpse, not just goes and sticks to some human like a leech.

Still, nothing is really explained, who are the Sentinels and if are those demons? 

Writing:
I don't hate third person point of view, but I felt like it made the novel much slower. All the scenes that doesn't include Nicholas were fillers and unneeded because most of those scenes feature one million characters that I didn't give a damn about.

I also think first person perspective from Nicholas would put more colors to the story and maybe even include some humor, which is always appreciated in any type of novel to keep the reader do his job-reading.

Also, the writing is really deep and sometimes it made me forget that the story was in the twenty first century.

Nicholas (Harry Potter):
Nicholas is really angry about the death of his parents and is really childish. Even for a guy, he acted like a kid; and from his actions I couldn't see him older than twelve. I was actually surprised anyone really considered him mature because he wince like a baby.

Sam (Albus Dambeldor):
Sam is the father figure of Nicholas after the death of his parents. Sam is described as about sixty years old who acts like he's in his thirties, both mentally and physically.

I know that this is a fantasy novel, but I do like to make some sense. How can an old man mover faster than a youngster? You need some serious magic for this, and I mean in writing.

Tabatha (Molly Weasley):
Tabatha takes care of Nicholas like of a son, and she barely can let go of him when he's out on his way to the journey. She was kind of spineless and wasn't much but someone who would ask 'what are you doing there Nicholas?'

Malika (Belatrix Lestrange):
I did like Malika and I felt like she's the only one who actually was a person/demon. She's not just my favorite character but also the only one I fully liked, except for Jessica.

Malika is wicked and chaotic evil, but really loyal to her God Diltraa (Lord Voldemort). She sounds really pretty but in the same time, poisonous. She's kind of more Poison Ivy than Belatrix, actually, when I think about it.

Jessica:
I didn't find any parallel character for her, and I was happy she felt original.

Jessica always acts mature, wise and confident, knows what to do. Most of the time. She felt real; her act was human like and charming. I only wish we knew more about her.

Overall:
Unfortunately and fortunately, I got into a love-hate relationship with this book. It drives me wanting more and to see what the next book, Ruins, holds in this series. It is slow, but the writing has an old styling and some side characters can be lovable.

2 STARS

Recommended to:
-patient readers
-fantasy lovers
-contemporary fantasy setting fans

Liked:
-world building
-HP like
-Malika
-Jessica

Disliked:
-basic plotline
-Nicholas
-Sam
-most of main and minor characters

This book was an exchange with the author for a honest review in the R4R (Read for Review) program.

Monday, 9 September 2013

Review: The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars/ John Green

Want to hear someone who speaks up his negative mind against the best book of 2012? Look no further, my friends! Because it's ranting time!

Hazel Grace has survived lung cancer with a miracle.Yet, she still has weak lungs and she's depressed for most of the day. Due the depression, her parents think it's a good idea to send her to a support group that takes it's sessions in "the heart of Jesus". Also known as the basement in a church/convent. There she meets a young boy by the name of Augustus Waters.

Plot:
Before I start talking about the plot in general, I want to talk about the fuel of a story: the conflict!
Did I miss something? Because every time I try to find something that drives the story, I find only... okay, you know what, I find nothing.
Some of you may say: "but she has cancer, and he has cancer! It's a huge conflict!" but let me explain something;
Cancer is not a conflict. The effect after the cancer is a conflict.
I know, you would say that the depression and all the love drama is a conflict, but not in my opinion. I'm sorry. Not.
But despise this, I really loved how the story had a structure (you don't know how many stories I've read that didn't use time lapse right) and the romance was really cute!
I also love the funny moments between Hazel and Gus;
"I failed my drawing test three times." "You don't say."
I think that the romance itself is what makes this story beautiful.

Writing:
I don't hate the writing, it's just that many times in a dialogue, after quotes, you could see;
I said- she said- I said.
He said- I said.
The word 'said' was mentioned over nine thousand times, and that was annoying.
Hazel Grace:
I actually really liked Hazel personality. She was witty, sarcastic and overall, a cutie-pie. Need I say more?

Augustus Waters:
Okay, I know that many of my friends are in love with him, and I still don't get why. One of my problems is: he's much more stupid than most people disclaim.
Here's an example: he puts a cigar in his month on the plane. He doesn't lit it up ("it's a metaphor. You put the killing thing in your mouth, but you don't let it kill you,") but he was let go only with a warning.
Also, when they need to pass hand bags in the security, they would take the cigars and throw them away!

Minor characters:
I didn't like any of the minor characters. They also felt really blend to me.

Overall:
The story could have been better with a conflict, a strong male lead character and more flushed out characters.

2 STARS

Liked:
-Hazel

Disliked:
-Gus
-Plot
-swallow minor characters

Thursday, 5 September 2013

Review: Akaya Akashiya Ayakashi No vol.1 (あかや あかしや あやかしの, #1)

Akaya Akashiya Ayakashi No vol.1 {あかや あかしや あやかしの, #1}/ HaccaWorks*
 
I usually don't review mangas, but this one is special.
 
The story of AkaAka begins with a dream filled with red camellia and the passing of a strange mask. The owner of this mask is a young boy named Yue who lives at a temple populated with rather unusual residents. The nearby town Utsuwa is holding a winter festival. Kurogitsune, his fox spirit friend, decides it’s the perfect opportunity for the sheltered Yue to experience the sights, sounds, and most of all–the food! Even though Yue is forbidden to ever leave the temple, they sneak into town, not realizing what they’ve set into motion…(from MangaHere)
The manga is also bassed on a visual novel with the same name.

Plot:
As to tell the truth, the plot of this manga is actually a bit in haze. Actually, we don't even know for sure if Yue is human! We do have some clues that are given that makes it look like he's actually a demon, but those are not formal and nobody says, "yes, this person over here is a human/demon!" but more on that later. I do love how everything is mysterious(even without the mystery inside the story). Every person can see the plot differently, and I really recommend to those who like Japanese demons/myths/literature, this is for you.

Writing:
As I read the manga in both Japanese and English, I must say, the writing of the dialogues is really good. There's never too much information, and it's really nice to the eye. I'm currently reading a manga called Kamusari, and let me tell you, when there's an overdoze of text, it makes you wanna put down the book. Seriously.

Art:
AkaAka's art can be described in one word: gorgeous. It's not drawn by the same person as who created the art of the visual novel, but the drawing style gave the same, amazing atmosphere: the feeling of the Japanese supernatural motif. For some people, the drawing of the body might not appeal, as some see it too 'slender' and 'bone showing', which in my taste, is not bad. It's actually in the right place.

Hero- Yue:
Yue is the hero of the story. He's friendly to other and sometimes even naive, carefree and going by his own pace. Yue can't see people 'normally'- he sees them as simple shadows(that are illustrated in a shape familiar to a fox). Except for two people. Those are Tsubaki and Akiyoshi.
The story isn't like 'yes! Yue is a demon!' but it does gives us hints that  he is one of them. Huh.

Tsubaki:
Unlike Yue, Tsubaki is not the happy go around person. He's serious and has a grim expression on his face. Actually, he hates everything. Even the camellia flower he was named after (Tsubaki= Camellia in Japanese). He's a loner and keeps his distance from everyone, like a true Emo.
 
Akiyoshi:
Our fellow stalker who is sensitive to the supernatural. He sees himself as the protector of the city, when in reality, he's an asthmatic boy with a mask over his face and runs around with tissues.
Kurogitsune:
He's Yue's guide/friend. He's a Kitsune, a Japanese fox demon, who always saves Yue's ass. He's also the one who drags him out into the human world and makes them both get into trouble in the first place. If not him, nothing in the novel would happen, and believe me, Yue would be dad without his foxy friend. But he can be kinda like this:

Overall:
If you want a mysterious and beautiful plot and world setting, this is the manga for you!

5 STARS

Liked:
-Plot
-Characters
-World setting

Disliked:
-A bit too mysterious 

Tuesday, 3 September 2013

Update: The ShadowHunter Chronicles

I only started half-way through Clockwork Angel, and I'm in love already with this world! Just look at it:




Wednesday, 28 August 2013

Review: Switched (Trylle, #1)

Switched {Trylle, #1}/ Amanda Hocking

It's been a while since I've read a book that didn't hold my interest, even after fifty pages.

Wendy's first memory of her mother was when she was almost killed by her on her birthday. Her mother accused Wendy that she's not her real monster and calling her a monster. Afterwards, for the past eleven years, she moved from town to town with her brother Matt and her aunt Meggy, whilst her mother is in a mental institute. But when she meets a mysterious, young and handsome guy, her life goes upside down.

Plot:
Okay, how many times a character was a shut off and a guy shows her 'A Whole New World' in the young adult fiction?
Okay guys, just stop the cheesiness.

Anyhow, I did like the idea of Wendy being inhuman, which was obvious from the summery. And I did like all the crazy mom thing. But Wendy and Matt letting go of her so easily. Some stuff are unexplainable: why did some random guy (bad with names) just befriend her? Or why is that guy who's name I always forget tries to befriend Finn? I wish something would hold my interest.

Writing:
I walked here.
I walked there.
We walked towa--

Enough! Have many times can you write 'walked' in one book?! What is this, the Lord of The Rings movie?

Wendy Duck:
I hate Mary Sues with firing passion! Those skeleton less characters are repeated over and over again with the same personality(less) are annoying the living hell out of me! Most of them even look the same (dark brown hair, dark brown eyes)!
Oh, making her hating shoes makes her awesomer? Beating another girl is bad-ass? Please, I can fight better than this! If it was up to me, that girl would lose a rib!


Finn Collins:
Seriously, I think Edward had more personality than him! I don't want to talk about him... because he just stares, annoys me and being a douche!

Other characters:
I didn't even like Matt or anyone else. Everyone were cardboards for me and didn't have any difference.

Overall:
I feel like I wasted my time with this book. The only thing that I liked was the prologue.

1 STAR

Liked:
-Prologue

Disliked:
-plot
-characters
-relationships
-everyting

Sunday, 18 August 2013

Update: 1K hit!

Hey little readers!
Recently, this book got one thousand hits!
Thank you so much for keeping this blog alive!
Also, today is Percy Jackson's birthday, August 18!

Hopefully, more reviews will fill this blog!

Adios,
--Alice K.

Review: Life Before Legend (Legend, #0.5)

Life Before Legend {Legend, #0.5}/ Marie Lu

Legend proved itself as one of the best books in the YA novels of 2011, but what about it's prologue?

Two stories are included in this novella: the story of Day's first kiss and the story of June's first day at Drake U. If you didn't read the first book, Legend, it's not recommended for you to read the review or the novella itself.

Plot:
Day- I found Day's story not very entertaining. It was dull to read, even from his perspective, and I felt that the girl was just there. This could be inserted somewhere in the second book.
June- Her story was much likeable. It shows us more of June's personality and the relationship between her and her brother, Metias.

Writing:
Just as in the novel, June's point of view is written much better (and side comments are used flawlessly) while Day has a typical writing for a guy in a girly YA book.
Overall:
The characters are the same lovely characters from the book, just showing their past. I would reccomend reading only June's story, though.

3 STARS

Liked:
-June's story

Disliked:
-Day's story

Thursday, 8 August 2013

Haul: First Book in a Series That Starts on 'L'

Yes, I just failed with my book buying ban. But look at those ahdkkjkjsaho!
L==>R: Legend {Legend, #1}; Cinder {The lunar Chronicles, #1}

Monday, 5 August 2013

Update: Where's Alice?

Okay, guys, I'm so, so terribly sorry for not uploading any reviews. Even though I have material for six(!) reviews. Life started being really stressful and I have so many plans, but because of summer school, I did nothing!

I appologize for this really short update, but in the next few days, I will work on my reviews :)

Love you,
--Alice K.

Saturday, 20 July 2013

Review: The Coffin Club (Vampire Kisses, #5)

The Coffin Club {Vampire Kisses, #5}/ Ellen Schreiber

When I was one chapter away from the ending I didn't know, that the ending was worth it. And worth three stars.

I really recommend you: do not read this review without reading the other four books in the series which come before this, fifth book in the alluring series of Vampire Kisses.

Raven cannot sit down any longer without her lovely Nosferatu, so she catches a bus, again, to Hipsterville and once again, visits The Coffin Club. Now that she has three males who like her, adds another fangy guy to the list: Phoenix.

But who is that guy? And what's up with the underground dance floor where people drink blood like martini?

Plot:
I'm confused if this plot is considered decent.

I did like that the book wasn't too much around Alexander, but it did feel as if he disappeared. But I do like the idea of a club for vampires to express themselves, and I found it really nice that the vampires didn't have to hide all the time from mortals. I would join!
But that's what most of the plot is about. Or was it?

The Pretender Mortal- Raven:
Raven tries to be a poser as a vampire. She pretends the entire book that she's a vampire, and when she is found out, she is so easily forgiven. Even vampires that Raven met a few times were her besties, and I needed a puke bag for those moments.

But I did like how she snicked inside and had the courage being with a bunch of hungry humanoid bats. Nice job! Especially when Alexander told you not to. Thumbs up there.

The One with The MPD (multi personality distorter)- Alexander:
Alexander started being really moody when he meets Raven, constantly lies to her and then, if that wasn't enough, he was dressing up like another guy and almost making his girlfriend fall for him, again. It's like asking your girlfriend to cheat on you.

In other words, he stopped being a lovable character.

King of The Club- Jagger:
When we meet, again, Jagger in this book, he's out of character. He's so nice to Raven, even though he forgiven Alexander, he felt fake. And what's up with him betraying Raven in the end? Does Schreiber tries to make the characters worse?

And where's Luna?

Overall:
This book wasn't a starring one in the series, but I do hope that the six book will make up for it.

3 STARS

Liked:
-Club
-Random Vampires in the club

Disliked:
-Raven
-Alexander
-Most of the Plot
-Not showing us Luna

Sunday, 7 July 2013

Review: Evermore (The Immortals, #1)

Evermore {The Immortals, #1}/ Alyson Noel

I expected it to be bad. But it was worse that I could have ever imagined.

Ever Bloom (what's with the erotic novel name?) is a psychic after she almost dies with her family in a car crash, and she's the only survivor. She becomes an outcast by choice, leaving her glamorous past of school popularity and mourns about her family every five minutes. Until she meets Damen. Because then, she mourns every two seconds while blaming herself for their death.

Plot:
Many years ago, when I first attempted to read this book (it's been on my shelf since middle school) one of my classmates who read it, and I quote her, said: "it's just like twilight. A total rip-off." I couldn't agree more.

First five chapters make you think that this novel is about psychic powers and immortality and maybe even pop up something a little bit philosophical on a minor level.
Couldn't agree more, Mr. Grumpy Cat. Maybe I should have listened to all those people who tagged this book as 'worst book ever'. But if to tell the truth, I've read worse. And I'm not talking about Twilight.

But still, the plot mostly is all about the undying love. Are you fucking kidding me? First, we have vampires with their own undying love but... seriously, we don't need more people who can love somebody forever like they are blind folded.

Writing:
Too simple. Way too simple.

EverStupid Bloom:
Bella Duck strikes again with a cosplay of a blonde girl. I needed some pain killers because the narration was really painful for my brain.

Ever was popular and had a great boyfriend and a best friend and bla bla bla, until her family is killed in a car accident. Since that day, she always blames herself but never says she misses them. She starts wearing dark hoodies and hiding her beauty to punish herself. And I'm sitting by the barbecue, ready to throw this book into the fire.

Ever always talks about two things: 1)her family being killed; 2)Damen, and how she totally doesn't like him.

Yeah, right.
Ever is being all moe around him, kissing him randomly and shit, and all she says 'I can't see his aura! How can it be if he's not dead?'

Didn't you think for even a moment that he's actually a zombie? It's the fucking prequel to Warm Bodies with a psychic girl included!

And psychic my ass! Seeing auras and ghost is just a little excuse to make her a 'special snowflake'.

Damen Sparkles:
Tell me this book is nothing like Twilight and I'll roll my eyes. In the millionth time since I started reading this book.

Damen was that guy. No, not the swoon worthy one. I mean the guy who is just there for the mystery, when there's nothing amazing about him. yeah, you're a thousand years old. No, it's sooo not pedophilia! Damn it, don't you believe me?

Sidekicks of BoringLand:
Wow, stereotypes do die hard.

Ever's new friends were the biggest stereotypes for a goth and a gay: a girl who is seeking for attention and love and a guy who is a wuss and girly.

Not all goths are attention seekers and not all gays are pussies! It's like saying all Italians love coffee or all French people are erotic and perverted! Even when using stereotypes, can you please give some depth to this characters? I want to enjoy the company of those friends while reading the book, not choke them out of blind rage.

And not only Haven and Miles are the one who annoyed me. Guess who? That's right, the little, annoying brat that goes by the name Riley.

Riley is Ever's little ghost sister, who trolls her sister all the time and acts like a seven years old. She all the time comments about the most stupid things, and if Ever wasn't enough, bam! Family set of characters that are annoying you to death!

Overall:
I couldn't stand this book! I will just pretend I never read it and move on to The Soul Seekers (which I do like, kinda) and Noel's stand alones.

0 STARS

Liked:
-what?

Disliked:
-everything


Saturday, 6 July 2013

Review: Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

Shatter Me {Shatter Me, #1}/ Tahereh Mafi

This book was like the kiddy roller coaster: It went up a little bit, and then went down drastically. And it was done. Just like that.

Juliette lives in an asylum for almost a year until a handsome guy is thrown into her cell. She didn't touch any human being for years because if she touches anyone- she sucks the life out of them. And she couldn't keep her hands to herself.

This review is going to be a major rant with ultra-hulk-size major spoilers with comic-book geek references.

Plot:
There's two parts to this book: one half that is awesome. Second part is a copy-pasta from The Avengers with a lot of make outs and almost a sex scene (or rape).

Mrs. Mafi, what were you thinking while writing the second part of this book? Did you try to mix Hulk with Fifty Shades of Grey? Or The Avengers with a Sophie Kinsella novel?
I found the parts in the asylum, the broken parts of Juliette's mind. But what did I get? A dystopian earth novel with sappy romance and... okay, I will stop saying anything to do with 'super heroes', for now.


Writing:
I don't know why everyone say that the writing is ugly and stupid. Yes, there's moments when she repeats words or phrases. But I think she just tried to bold out Juliette's emotions (by writing an entire copy paste page 'I am not insane.' and dart it all except the last sentence).

But truth is, I liked how she 'deleted' the emotions that the heroine denied. I actually loved the simple description, maybe not a writing that you can see the world with your eyes closed, but good enough to imagine the basics.


Slut of the Week- Juliette:
At first, she was hurt, broken but badass. That was the first part of the book.

But as the book went on and on about her loving Adam, I was just rolling my eyes every-time she somehow mentioned her undying love to him because he has a tattoo. Of a bird. Wow.

Cell Mate- Adam:
I never really had any feeling for this dude. He was so plain and just... he wasn't swoon worthy for me. Actually, I don't even know what he finds in Juliette with their undying love. It's 'Evermore' all over again. Or any YA novel for that matter.

Kidnapper- Warner:
Every time I projected Warner in my mind, I always heard, saw and imagined him like this:
Seriously, he was as possesive, if not more, as the Ice King. Think about it- the Ice King kidnaps princesses to marry them, Warner kidnaps Juliette to be his weapon.

The Ice King gave a promise and crossed his fingers behind his back, Warner did the same.

"Take your time, love." felt like the Ice King was saying it, not a hot blonde guy with blue/green eyes (I never remember the color of guy's eye color all sound the same to me, because it can never be light grey or black with flecks of blue).

And if Warner got blue eyes, he shares them with the Ice King. I can go on and on with the similarities between them and other kidnapers from Nintendo games.

Overall:
I hated how this book turned from a cool asylum dystopian story to Rouge from X-Men meets the Hulk in one body. Bye.

1 STAR

Liked:
-Beginning
-Asylum
-Ruined dystopian world

Disliked:
-Warner
-Adam
-The Slut
-Roamnce
-Geek refrences

This is what happens when you get a recommendation from Lauren Kate ("Fated").

Wednesday, 3 July 2013

Update: Holy--

What?

July TBR

Well, on my TBR list for this month (pretty much the order in my head):

L==>R: A Shocker on Shock Street; The Coffin Club; The Fault In Our Stars; Vampire Academy; The Hunger Games; Kamusari; The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn; If I stay

Sunday, 30 June 2013

Wrap Up: June '13

Alright, I read A LOT of mangas this month, but I didn't keep up with my TBR list.

The list:

June 1st~30th:
-Kamisama Kiss #9
-Vampire Kisses #3-4
-Hoshi Ni Naru Hi
-Karakuri Odette #1-6
-The Poison Diaries
-Nosatsu Junkie #1-5
-Kedamono Damono #1-3
-Shatter Me
-Evermore

Total:
5 Novels
+
16 mangas
=
21 books in total

Saturday, 29 June 2013

Update: Green Book Disposal #1

 Green Book Disposal #1/ 29.06.13

After raging, reading and throwing books on the floor, I'm getting rid of some books that aren't good and not pretty enough to stay on my shelf.
L==>R: Evermore (The Immortals, #1); Radiance (Riley Bloom, #1); Blue Moon (The Immortals, #2)

Thursday, 27 June 2013

Update: Wattpad?

Alright, as now I'm more than a year on Wattpad, I want to write little reccomendations in the end of every month to 5/10 books. Here a little something, to show you how it goes.

Summer Riot/ Dragonette_Zombie
Ongoing, 7 parts, 16 pages.
"Brandy Sade is expecting a summer as boring as the last, but things change when she discovers her parents won five tickets to go to Greece for the summer. However, the tickets were unexpected and her parents had already planned a cruise to the Caribbean for their anniversary. In other words, they were just planning on leaving Brandy home alone all summer. Now that Brandy has five extra tickets and her parents have other plans, she can bring her friends! She wants to have a good time; sight-see, buy some souvenirs, meet a hot guy. But there's a moment of a spark before they even leave and now her relationship with her best friend, Carson Andrew, is set off, the perfect balance disrupted. So will the whole trip be a catastrophe and the end of their tightly knitted friendship or will it entwine with something other than friendship?"

Fun and entertaining, perfect summer time read for all those who want a nice beach read or even just for the hot days. The characters are entertaining, each of them is different and unique. 
I also loved about the story that it so simple but heart warming in the same time. If you want a nice read on the beach or at the pool, this is for you!

>>Read Here!<<